A letter to 2017

Dear 2017,

I remember watching our beautiful fireworks go up in flames of glitter and gold at the stroke of midnight celebrating your arrival. Many did so because they found 2016 to be an utter brat of a year, since he never made things easy for any one of them. 2016 however was especially nice to me. he gave me a myriad of firsts in my life. This included graduation, a new found family, being loved & giving love, learning about commitment and adulting and so many other facets of life that I think I could be ready for my 40th birthday anytime now.

As I sat there in the crowd, I looked at him and smiled. My friends had been right all along. “Go.” They said. “It’s not fair to not rewrite this story.” New memories have been made. Life constantly rewrites itself.  As the golden flakes fell into thin air of the sky, I remembered what it was like to feel excited for what you could not expect. Strangely, I felt so at peace for being able to share anything and everything under the sky.

It’s only been 17 days since you came by. It’s too early to say anything, but I really hope you would be as amazing as 2015 and 2016 was.

img_6977

xx

Leave a Reply

