On monogamy & hurt

Life lesson 101 on a trajectory monogamous pause by a fellow colleague: If a man cheats on you. You do not blame the woman for teasing, tempting or throwing herself on him. You blame the man for acting on it. P.S, no one cheated on anyone, but when you see so many families in and out of today’s context- it becomes difficult to see what is right and wrong. Working with people often leave you disappointed, especially when your trust wears thin, when there is a breach of trust. It’s annoying. It’s infuriating. It’s… exhausting.

In life, we are always given choices. Much like how I choose to get iced coffee in the wee hours of the morning as I drag my weary body to work despite knowing it gives me a early morning stomachache.  Much like how I play my music through my earphones to deafen out the mornings, only to know how my ears will fail me in the next twenty years or less. Much like how I choose…….to talk it out or shut out the people that come walking through my door.

True vulnerability comes at a large cost, and I’ve come to realize that everyone has a choice. But when someone says you hurt them, you don’t get to decide that you didn’t.

Leave a Reply

