“I certainly did something, I made you.”

     
I’ve been bogged down by quite a few things these past two weeks. Firstly, work. Another one of my seniors passed on last week and hearing how she fought so hard to stay alive (she wasn’t frail at all but only after she contracted cancer she detoriated quickly) made me pretty sad. She had always been a kind lady and i shared my sentiments with my supervisor who then said one of the most comforting words to me. She went,”Don’t worry so much. You know, God will find the tiniest reason to save someone.”

Ageing is the end of our lifespans and working with seniors isn’t as popular as compared to my other peers in early childcare. But something still consistently stirs in me in my day to day work and after almost two years running, I am ever grateful for the consistent reminder to appreciate the little things in life. After all, ageing is a human experience not every one gets to experience, but we take that for granted half the time.

Schoolwork: a total pain and torturous journey altogether when it comes to assessment runs. I have approximately 8 essays to write, a group component and also 4 main papers in may that I’ve clearly, not started studying for. It brought me back to my polytechnic years and made me wonder how unappreciative I was then of being able to take afternoon naps. With work and school and attempting to have a basic social life, lessons become more and more difficult to attend to. It’s extremely draining physically and mentally. But at the same time, I’d like to state that I have nobody else to blame, and deep inside I know nothing worth having comes easy. So, till graduation!!! (I await that day eagerly)  πŸ™†πŸ»πŸ™†πŸ»πŸ™†πŸ» 

Last friday, we celebrated my mom’s 61st birthday with a simple japanese dinner at thriple one. Their cod fish beef set was to die for! I forgot what the resturant’s name was but it’s located on the second floor. Check it out!  

The very next morning on saturday, we went for a family portrait photoshoot at serangoon broadway. My mom had originally requested it for her 60th birthday but at that time one of my sisters was pregnant/i had braces so we waited till 2016 to take it. We had a long discussion over it and decided to make the portait with just my mother and her children. 

Serangoon broadway was very professional in their shoots and we finished it within an hour. Shockingly, i never knew family portraits were so expensive! An average mid sized portrait can cost as much as $800+. Because there were so many of her children, my mother chose a bigger one which cost slightly over 1k 😱😱😱 at moments like this i’m thankful the cost was divided by 5 πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

After the shoot, we went for a family brunch (we haven’t done it in awhile because we’ve been busy with school/work/kids) which was really nice. We settled into a bistro along Jalan Riang called Rokeby and had a really nice cuppa latte and breakfast sets! 

   
 
In the meantime, i will do what i do best at- procrastination, denial and feign ignorance. Hopefully get some sleep over the weekend.

 I also recently got a piggy bank at work so I can look at it and be reminded to save. It is also purposefully bought with the euro dollar on it because it is my second utmost desire to backpack the other 1/2 to 1/4 of Europe that I didn’t get to complete last year. Also, Cinque Terre, which i forgoed for an extra night in florence. #noregrets still though, Florence stole my heart completely.   

Okay, this sums up my thoughts and what has been going on in my life so far. Would you believe I spent the 45 minute train journey from home to work to craft this post on the wordpress app? #efficiency. 

Hang tight and I’ll catch you guys in a bit! 

Xx

Leave a Reply

