On having compassion

“Love and compassion are necessities , not luxuries. Without them, humanity cannot survive.”

It was just like any other day at work, i was sitting down sipping my morning cup of tea while talking to my supervisor. I had shared with her previously about some bucket lists I had wanted to pursue and one of it led to the idea of sponsoring a child. I was curious and asked more about it. I wasn’t new to the concept because my sister had previously sponsored a child from world vision. But I wanted to try some other organization- and then she recommended me to try, compassion international.

Compassion International is a child-advocacy ministry that pairs compassionate people with those who are suffering from poverty. The ministry releases children from spiritual, economic, social, and physical poverty. The goal is for each child to become a responsible and fulfilled adult.Compassion also started as early as 1952. They have been around and are widely known for their financial integrity as to where the donated funds go to.

I had wanted to donate a one off sum, but my curiosity led me to the sponsor a child page. Ever since I’ve started working, I felt that though some cases in Singapore are pretty bad in my line of work, I still feel that as compared to other countries, Singapore is blessed in so many ways we can’t imagine. We have the basic necessities, education, food, clean water, clothes on our back, a house. Though not all, I do feel sometimes that we as humans (me included) can get pretty self entitled, and in a way, we are too pampered.

But these children? They live in poverty, lacking the basic necessities. Some live in a environment where they are potentially high risk for AIDS and exploitation, and they are as young as 3 years old. But yet they are happy, and trying to make the best out of what they have. That was something that really touched me after doing some research on the different villages these kids lived in.

How does it work? Read the FAQ by clicking here. 

What specific benefits will the child I sponsor receive?

The child you sponsor through Compassion will receive opportunities and services that most of the world’s poorest children will simply never see. These opportunities and services include the following:

The opportunity to receive an education:

In some cases, this means providing the cost of school fees, clothing and supplies. In other cases, it means providing tutoring, help with homework, encouragement and, if necessary, participation in a literacy program outside the classroom. Your Compassion sponsorship will allow one special child to stay in school longer if formal schooling is an option and get the most out of his or her education.

The opportunity to be healthy:

The health of the child you sponsor will be monitored and care will be provided as needed. Children are taught about hygiene and how to maintain personal health. In addition, and according to their needs, many Compassion children receive supplementary food.

The opportunity to develop self-confidence and social skills:

The child you support will be part of a church-based program where Christian adults offer love, guidance, personal attention, guided recreation and safety.

The opportunity to hear the gospel and learn about Jesus:

Most important, your Compassion sponsorship provides the child you sponsor with regular Bible training and encouragement through a local church committed to Christ and the children in its community.

$38 USD a month? Hmmm. That’s about $50 SGD. Which could buy me on average a good dinner at a fancy restaurant. A new hair curler. Some toner and eye cream. I then questioned, did I really need that? Could I give that up? Just once a month?With that, I chose a child from Ethopia to sponsor. And I can’t wait to receive her letter and write to her.

So guys, for a mere $38 USD a month, would you sponsor a child? 

Leave a Reply

