On taking things to heart


I was in the lift this morning when a mother and young child walked in. Her daughter was late and seemed a little tardy, as she straightened out her uniform for her in front of me. I was distracted because it was early in the morning, I hadn’t had coffee in my system and I was running late. Worst combination at seven in the morning.The mother continued her conversation with her daughter, and asked her daughter what she learnt in school the day before.

The girl told her mother while munching on a banana, “My teacher asked me what kind of person I wanted to be when I grew up. We took turns to share around the class.

So what did you say when it was your turn?” her mother asked.

The little girl continues on.

Everyone said they wanted to be kind or gracious, and give up their seats to an old lady or man on the train.

But I had given this some thought before, and I think I want to be someone that sees the good in others to help them with their problems.

The mother with a perplexed look on her face turns to her and asks, “ Are you sure you would? What if no one sees the good in you?

And then to my amazement, she replied.

I would, even if no one sees the good in me.

Because If they don’t know me to my heart, then why would I take it to my heart? “

Leave a Reply

