You’re burning undecided

Processed with VSCOcam

Last weekend, I went to walk around the River Hong Bao for the first time in my life, (though I have this impression I might have gone once as a child but the recollection is faint) at the floating platform and walked over to catch SG50’s Chingay parade. It was crowded, and if you knew me well, you’d know how much I hate crowds. But weirdly, the night was filled with a life I could not comprehend. People were laughing and happy, which is a scene not one sees on a day to day basis on the trains and working a nine to five job. Music played through the air and the costumes and floats were beautiful and full of dancers with such zest and energy, which perked me up after a long, long day at work. The night ended with walking along the helix bridge,strong gusts of wind blowing in my face as I watched the fireworks light up the Singapore Skyline.

It was nice to kick off my shoes (not literally, of course!) after such a long time and just for those brief moments, it felt different. I guess that was really a true interpretation of what it meant to find beauty in the chaos. The chaos in this case, being the rest of the public rushing to the train to get a seat while I stood arms akimbo watching the skyline.

Work has been extremely fast paced. Or maybe I got used to the quiet after the Chinese New Year. I can’t believe a year has passed for me in my organization, and I’ve never been more happy , passionate or fulfilled in my job. Never been one to preach, but everything happens for a reason- in God’s timing and plans.

Some pictures of what I’ve been up to in the last few days:Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetIMG_20150224_232026IMG_20150223_194520IMG_20150222_013408IMG_20150222_015141

This post would have been a little more informative if I had a little more time to craft it out. But hey, you gotta do what you gotta do. I’m a contributing member of society now, and apparently of Singapore’s economy too. That equates to bedtime schedules, planners and a quick but lost in space attempt at professionalism.

I have noticed when I first started going to work at the peak hours on Singapore’s transport system, I wondered why everyone seemed to be walking faster than I could. Even more so since it was extremely early in the morning, and I am, of course, not a morning person. Today, to my horror and dismay, I have unknowingly trudged across that path and conformed unconsciously to the pace of the working world. Quick and steadily! Thinking about it just makes me tired.

I’ll try to be back from time to time at this space. But in the meantime, hang tight with one of my favorite old school happy songs from my favorite pre-teenage years movie: Angus, Thongs and perfect snogging.

xx Cal
Leave a Reply

