Garmin Forerunner 10

With the year end bonus I received in 2014, I have been spending more than I probably should. A lot of it went to my crazy wants, such as the tv which hangs proudly in my room, some furniture and a girl’s best past time- retail therapy. Aka, clothes.

For those of you who have been keeping up, I have been nursing a consistent back injury, which started since October last year and acts up from time to time. Because of the intensity of the pain and how I can’t gauge when the pain will come, I stopped exercising on a whole (this obviously did not bode well for me, hence the crazy weight gain and fat shaming I’ve been receiving).

I then decided to listen to spontaneous past Cally who decided the only way to get back on the fitness track was to sign up for a marathon in 3 months time, so that I future cally (me, now) could decide to float or sink. I’m so dead, lol.

Hence, I thought, brooded even, for the longest time on this purchase before I decided it was a investment. It was also a way for me to motivate myself to hopefully deal with the pain and run through it, since the pain has not subsided since I took a break from physical activity anyway so….tadah! Meet my new baby.

Garmin Forerunner 10
IMG_20150105_185033 for all my friends/readers who are curious what the Garmin Forerunner does and can’t understand technical instructions like me, I will attempt to explain why I chose Garmin, the model 10 (since there are so many other Garmin models out there) and what’s so good about getting a Garmin watch. 

  1. The Garmin Forerunner 10 runs on GPS. This means that I just have to be outdoors, turn on the GPS to let my watch catch the location, and that’s it. I get my distance run.
  2. It also provides speed per kilometer, time elapsed. When it stops, it reverts back to a normal digital watch for date and current time.
  3. it is completely waterproof.
  4. it also helps to count calories burnt
  5. It is extremely easy to use. Idiot proof. Especially if you grew up in this technology infused era like me #1990schildren

To me, the Garmin forerunner 10 was also the most economical price, costing USD $129. considering other Garmin Forerunner watches go as expensive as $400+ sgd (oh my god that is just insane, I’ll eat grass for the next month……..) but I guess the more higher end ones are for competitive, whereas I’m just a recreational runner.

Used it for two runs and I regret nothing!

IMG_20150106_162038

I’ve never been more motivated to go running considering I’m so excited to see if the watch will fail me. Thankfully it hasn’t died on me or fizzled out so far.

for more info, you can check it out here! And should you buy it, I hope it sprinkles as much motivation to exercise on you as it did for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

