The map that leads to you, ain’t nothing I can do

One thing I’ve learnt about myself in the past year: I don’t like to review my choices. It makes me unsure and then conflicted because I hate to second guess myself. I mean, who would know what is the best for you but… yourself. Right?

I called a friend this afternoon to explain to her some things about her upcoming semester in the same university as me (um. Hi Nat!). Halfway through the conversation she goes, “Hey, what’s up with you? I read your blog…..you sound. Emo.” (Why don’t we use that term anymore? Emo? I haven’t used the term since my real dreadful teenager angst days.)

The concern was sweet but apparently I might have sounded too dreadful in the previous posts. I assured her it was just for creativity’s sake, and you know, to not worry about me that much. Thinking back, I should have faked a whole long conversation about being depressed and something drastic to freak her out, and then you know. Laugh about it with her later when she realizes she’s got me as a friend. Mischievous and all that jazz.

Some interesting updates, including me trialing a banana cake (the healthier choice!) with no butter and less sugar! We used vegetable oil instead and it tasted pretty good!  For those who asked for the recipe, here you go!

IMG_20141204_171923

Healthier Banana Cake Alternative

Ingredients:
3 eggs (medium)
130g sugar
200g banana (ripe & cut into small pcs)
150g cake flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
100g vegetable oil
1/8 tsp vanilla extract

Method :
1. Preheat oven to 160 degree C.
2. Grease and line a 8″ round tin with paper.
3. Sieve flour, baking powder and soda together. Sieve twice and set aside.
4. Whisk eggs, sugar and banana at max. speed till stiff
5. Fold in flour and mix well
6. Add in oil and mix well till batter is shiny and flowing.
7. Bake for 40 – 45mins

I recently also made a trip down to Pharmex to get some living aids for my grandma, and my siblings and I decided to split the cost and got her a wheelchair, a waterproof shower chair and a quad stick for walking. Interestingly enough, my grandma never did ask for all these aids. I think it’s still pretty Chinese to not want to ask for aids because it shows a sign of weakness and so on. She’s still pretty able, but we’re just worried about her.

I was thinking if I was in my 70’s and I had grandchildren who bought me a wheelchair I’d be offended to no end. I was sharing this to my supervisor the other day and she said, “Please! If you were old and you received a wheelchair, you’d scream- I don’t need it! I studied gerontology and I know how to take care of myself!” hahaha. I think all gerontology kids would feel the same way. Although in our defense, we were never taught the names or how to use the aids that most seniors need. That’s why we’re not nurses. Nurses are a whole amazing dedicated breed all together compared to social workers and gerontologists. I admire their courage with needles because, well. I never could.

i did do some research and found that Pharmex has two outlets, one in Yishun and another in Kembangan. Ststrategically placed, I’d assume. Considering they’re both really near old estates like Bedok and Toa Payoh. But anyway, I visited the Kembangan outlet and interestingly enough, I was on the first day that they started their sale for Christmas! So I had an offer on my grandma’s quadstick, which cost me less than $15.

Pharmex also has a clause which offers 5% off your purchase if you self collect it home. That’s quite a decent discount considering that a wheelchair cost more than $350 on average. But I met the nicest salesgirl who was extremely informative about the product there, and I managed to choose a pretty good wheelchair for my grandma. So guys, if you’re headed there- look for a girl in her early 20’s called Farah. She’s amazing!

Pharmex also has a online web page to purchase directly from them, which not many shops do. So if anyone needs living aids that you know of, check them out at this link here! http://www.medicalsupplies.com.sg/

Summing up the end of a long day with drinks by the pond at the new beach cabana with the girls. I couldn’t ask for more❤IMG-20141203-WA0013

Braces update: It’s less annoying, but still annoying. I can eat almost all foods now but sticky food is a no-no. Like pearls from my favorite bubble tea *cries*. Hard foods like Crackers take time, and extremely hard food like fried chicken wing skin is impossible. But I’m getting the hang of it. I suppose. I hope?

*yawn* It’s time to call it a night. Bed calls!

Hope everyone’s Thursday was good and everyone out of bed was sheltered from that god awful strong rain at eight this morning.

Lots of love, xx

Leave a Reply

