It’s always darkest before the dawn (Shake it off shake it off)

The last week was extremely busy. School’s finally out for my first semester and I have upcoming papers somewhere in November,the family is in discussion for our next destination for our family trip next year and the year is almost coming to an end! I couldn’t help but gawk in awe, I mean. Where did all the time go? It feels like just yesterday when I welcomed the new year. 2014 has been amazing though it succeed to make me go through the extreme ups and downs, it was a good run and a good year of life lessons.

My weekends have been burnt for the last few weeks because I worked on Saturdays mostly and half of Sundays were used for family time. After I started working full time, I came to the conclusion that there is definitely a need for some ‘alone’ time. Even if it meant lazing on the couch watching the big bang theory while painting my nails. The dosage of it, however, can be extremely confusing. Too much of it would make you feel like you should be doing something more productive with your life, too little of it makes you sick and reduces my level of being outgoing and talkative.

Last weekend was the perfect mix though. On Friday night, I met Twin for a stay-cation at festive hotel. Festive hotel is located in Resorts Word Sentosa Singapore, and is pretty much a family orientated hotel. I had dinner with twin, caught some fireworks and walked around Sentosa with ice cream in our hands before heading up to the hotel room to call it a night.

It was so funny because I had work the next day. So by 10pm (which is my usual bedtime if i have work the next day) I was already lazing in bed trying so hard to keep my eyes open as we watched the TV. We were supposed to watch a movie but when twin came out of the shower I was already half dead. We stayed awake till 1130 before I told her I needed to sleep if not I would die the next day at work.

Pictures of the pretty fireworks and a Great TGIF feel that I haven’t had in such a long while. Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetProcessed with VSCOcamOn Saturday night,I finally caught a glimpse of Charles and Sarah, who spent the last week in China. The house has been exceptionally quiet and there hasn’t been anyone around since everyone does their own thing most of the time anyway. When we realized we were all home, we decided to….. play TF2! It’s been awhile and I think my engineering skills have become rusty but anyway who wouldn’t resist to play!

After that, Saul came over and we caught a late night movie to watch Annabelle which probably scared the living daylights out of me. There’s this part in the movie that shows a young innocent four year old child running towards the protagonist and just as she does it she screams and changes into the woman. I thought I was going to die. That was a real good teaser though. Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetSunday was the first time Twin’s mother and my mother met! Sure they’ve heard a lot about each other over the years while growing up but somehow their paths never seemed to cross. Just their names being thrown around I guess. We spent the whole afternoon together and even brought our mothers to our favorite sushi place- Genki Sushi! My mother was pretending to know how to use the Ipad to order and Twin’s mother had to teach her…… it was absolutely hilarious. It wasn’t a surprising fact that our mothers actually hit it off quite well!

A picture of all of us together for the first time! It was nice to imagine and see how me and twin might be like 30 years from now. Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The weekend came and went in the blink of an eye! But…no Monday blues this week because this Monday was our staff chill out! A day of team bonding and fun, we took our passports and headed out to JB for the day!

It was pretty fun to bond with my colleagues for a day doing anything else other than work and running programs. For the first time I was in charge of planning the trip and I was stressed to no end in the beginning. But eventually it all turned out pretty okay. We had a dim sum buffet and I think we probably inhaled all the food when it came because we were starving from the time we left the office to the cross way.

Had the budget for a foot massage for everyone too! We did ours at Thai Odessey at City Square mall and it was extremely relaxing. Shared a room with one of my colleagues, auntie Pat(The one carrying a blue and yellow bag with glasses) and she’s one of the aunties at work who have been very sweet and nurturing to me throughout my internship to working full time.

Here’s a picture of all of us! We’re missing 2 people though, my executive director- Shirley, who had a medical appointment and my other colleague Sandra who is part of the senior team as well. Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetThis post sums up my amazing weekend! Hope everyone has been good, stay safe and stay gold.

xx

Leave a Reply

