I’ll get by

The week has been a huge turnaround, especially for my skepticism towards having a positive mindset to a positive day. I won’t say it’s not a factor but I still don’t believe it’s an only factor. If it was a shitty day, it’d be a shitty day all the way. But I digress. 

I had just finished a Friday night with a full day at work, a 60% quiz for my introductory law class on family and probate law and was utterly exhausted. It didn’t help that I was working at 7am the next morning and when class ended it was already 10.15pm. It didn’t help even more that it took me at least an hour to get back to my sister’s place from the west to north east. I was ready to throw in the towel when my sister called, she knew how tired I was and drove over to pick me up. I was extremely grateful and then……..

She drove to a drive-thru. “You haven’t eaten dinner yet right?” 

It’s the little things that matter most to me. Thank you sis.  Love you ❤

Processed with VSCOcam

I was working this Saturday and halfway through the end of the day I smelt a burnt smell… it smelt very much like lit sparklers. We didn’t think too much of it till I decided to trace the smell outside only to realize a unit above my office on the twenty plus floor was……get this…..on fire. It was utter chaos, residents took the stairs down and evacuated, people were screaming at other people to avoid going up. The firefighters came within minutes and put the fire out. Thankfully, no one was fatally injured. It was a first for me, because I’ve never been in such close range of a fire- but I’m extremely thankful no one got hurt. My office’s estate is a relatively new block and it’d be such a hit to the morale of the community should a death occur. Blessed, as always!

My weekend came and went, had the usual brunch with my two good friends Monique & Gabe but this time they came down to the east to have my favorite rose latte at Chock Full of beans! Settled in for good old steamboat prepared by the lovely mother for our usual family dinners. 

IMG_20140824_153400[1] IMG_20140824_183041[1]    

I wish I could stop being so idealistic and conventional about my thoughts and ways but I think I’d still prefer conventional means to friendships and relationships on my own.This week, unconventional ways have proven to me that not all men you meet are assholes that are trying to get in your pants, and that there can be very genuine and like minded people out there.  It was such a refreshing change to be genuinely known instead of always offering the listening ear to the people who seem to always need it more than you. But sadly, try as I might, it’s really just not the way I usually go.

So for now: I’ll stand by, while I watch the world run. http%3A%2F%2F38.media.tumblr.com%2Fc2862ce904457dfa2d28ec100f942fcd%2Ftumblr_n0gbfgAvzE1rmzhrzo1_1280[1]

Also extremely excited because I bought a blouse and a beautiful skirt online today. Yay to the perks of online shopping! Hope everyone’s weekend was amazing.

With love, xx 

 

 

Leave a Reply

