When i am with you, there’s no place I’d rather be

Why hello there! It’s been awhile and just before I head to bed for a short nap…. I thought I’d do a quick post on my weekend!

About two weeks ago, I got a call on my office line from a lecturer of mine in Temasek Polytechnic. I was extremely surprised to hear his voice because I had expected it to be one of the seniors calling me up to inquire about a programme or something. But the voice was male (my seniors are usually female) and in English (my seniors usually converse with me in mandarin). Mr Issac called me and asked me if I could do him a favor and come down for the GEM Industry talk held at Temasek Polytechnic to our industry partners, as well as to commemorate GEM’s 5th year birthday!

I was a little hesitant at first and told him to give me a day or two to think about it. Firstly because I had work that day, and I wasn’t sure if my annual leave would be approved. Secondly because I was extremely terrified, the industry was estimated to have about 200 or more people in the auditorium-looking at me… talk. And thirdly, because I thought there were so many other people in the graduates cohort that had done better academically than me and deserved to give the speech more than me. It was a internal struggle until my colleague told me to just go for it, after all- this talk was a good exposure and a once in a lifetime experience.

The next day after, I told Mr Issac I’d do it. Believe it or not, I didn’t rehearse my speech till the night before the event! I was too busy with work and school that I was exhausted by the end of the week!

The days came and went and finally when it was the industry meet, I was extremely nervous. Just moments before my speech, I let a little prayer out to god for comfort (an extremely overdue prayer in my opinion) and prayed for courage. The crowd was daunting and I was shaking, like a little leaf. But eventually, I conveyed my speech and within moments it was over!

Of course, I couldn’t have done it without the support of my amazing friends came over to support me: Diyana and Isabell, Carol and Jared and even Huanyi (Who was attending the industry meet). I was extremely touched. One of them asked, “what was going through your mind when you were talking?” The after effects of the talk was me feeling extreme gratitude, I was so happy for the opportunity and it was somewhat a one of the bucket list kind of thing.

Also got to meet my lecturers once again, it felt very much like home. Once upon a time. I guess being  a GEM kid really made me realize so much more and helped me through my toughest moments yet.

Pictures of the industry meet!

With GEM’s Course Manager, Miss Julie Spencer
With the GEM Lecturers (2014)
To my beautiful friends that came to support me ❤
Diyana, me & Isabell (We need a cute sloth, Anti guys, 2014)
Giving my first ever formal public speech

After the day ended, the usual bunch came over to my place for our movie marathon night! With the help of my brother, we converted the dining table area to a mini movie area, with a projector screen and projector set up! We caught quite a few movies that night while we snacked on polar and pizza. Before we knew it, it was 2am. Jared was the first to fall asleep while watching hotel Transylvania so we decided to call it a night.

We also caught one of the most mind numbing trickery horror movies of the year (with the recommendation from carol) called oculus. It was really full of suspense and worth watching! Definitely a much better movie than Insidious. Sigh, I love watching horror movies with friends because I feel quite safe but once they went home it was a whole different story *lights, on the lights everywhere!*

Catch the trailer here:

before bedtime (movie marathon night 2014 Aug)

Because sleeping with Nahshon and Jared in the same room is impossible………  Nahshon and  Carol basically stayed up to watch another movie on my tab, Ben and Jared were dead to the world, I tossed and turned and didn’t sleep much. Ben left extremely early and when Nahshon didn’t sleep, so I was awoken by Jared knocking the window pane, and pressing his ice cold hands on my neck and arm while I was asleep. Carol is such a deep sleeper that she was oblivious to it….. So after I played a good host and sent them back, I slept for……get this.

5 hours.

5 hours of uninterrupted sleep before…..

Jasper decides to give in to my craving of ice cream, and appears downstairs in a car with a ready GPS. I actually googled- “Ice cream in the east Singapore” and the results came out with…..

Iscream

Block 89 Bedok North

Avenue 4, #01-109

Singapore 460089

So off we went! Interestingly enough, Iscream sells by the grams, hence 1gram=$3.5 cents, so 100 grams of ice cream would cost $3.50. I ordered a scoop of milo ice cream (150g) and it was a huge scoop! So girls, if you’re getting desert after dinner, 100g is more than enough. I liked the milo ice cream! It wasn’t too sweet like the other milo ice creams that I’ve tasted. Jasper begged to disagree and thought it was no different from drinking the beverage milo, and he wasn’t too pleased with his bosu red bean/marshmellow/raspberry desert, which quite frankly tasted weird. I hate beans, red of green.

But still, it was a nice night out with great company! If I ever choose to go back again, I’d love to try their infused somersby apple cider with a scoop of vanilla ice cream (I should have ordered that but didn’t see it till I paid for my order, boohoo.)

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

By the time jasper and I called it a night, it was close to midnight. I rushed back home and showered, getting ready for bed. My sleep felt like it only lasted twenty minutes because I woke up at…….

four in the morning……..

for…..

Shape run! #Shaperunsg #shaperun2014 #Shaperunsg10k

Shape run is a all women’s run (I think that’s what I love about it). It was my first time signing up for shape run, I’ve ran nike and standard chart’s 10k before but haven’t really been running actively, ever since my back injury two weeks ago. I signed up for the run months ago when I wasn’t injured and my running buddy Whitley had been training actively for the last few months and weeks when my back was out. I didn’t train for shape run and was pretty worried because I hadn’t done any sports or physical exercise like my doctor suggested for two weeks, so basically put… I was out of shape.

I started off with the 1hr 10 minute pacers and Whit at the starting line, and was going at a good pace. It was about the three km mark that my upper spine started to ache, and I had to slow down my pace. Eventually, I ended up walking for a kilometer or two while stretching my back out before I started running at the 4+Km mark at a slow pace and sped up towards the last km. It was quite torturous because my back was quite painful, but I was extremely happy after I crossed the finishing line. It was a struggle but I survived! Was greeted by whit standing near the finishing line with a big wide smile, yay!

Also, our photo got taken by runner’s society. I’m a little worried how it turned out, since we were both *Energy depleted* face with perspiration and sticky sweat all over us. Also struggled with how bright the color of the shirt was and the fact that it was so tight around my belly *whine* (is this a hint?) I guess one thing that I learnt about Shape run (which was brought up by whit too) was that women in all shapes and sizes were there running and what was even amazing was that the bigger and more rounder women actually were more fit? And they ran pretty fast with much resilience, so that was a takeaway message that running is something that will pay off, and that all bodies are capable. Big small thin thick(?). Effort is key! And much mind setting, goal setting etc.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset20140817_094804[1]

Alright! A pretty wordy post but I think it’s time to rest my back and sleep a little more considering the panda eyes I’ve been having. Catch you readers on the flip side! have a great Sunday ahead! xx

 

Leave a Reply

