On eagle’s wings

A lot of things happened in the last few days besides the usual. As we sat there brooding over familiar faces, munching on peanuts thinking of the right thing to say to our friend clad in black, he said- “Let’s talk about anything. Anything but what is going on now.

It’s difficult saying goodbye to someone you love because something feels different, ergo: making you different. Shaking hands of people I’ve not seen in years but grew up with, smiling as flashbacks of the weekly church rosary sessions of my childhood froze in place as I thought how much change this brought upon.  I sat there thinking of what I could say to him, but I realized the only thing I could do is be there.

“When we lose a loved one  here on earth, we gain an angel in heaven that watches over us.”

Leave a Reply

