{I asked my mother, what will I be}

Time really flies! It’s been slightly past a week since my official graduation ceremony. looking back at the photos of the whole event made me realize one thing : I am extremely blessed with the people in my life. I wanted to talk about this quite some time back, but I didn’t because I was worried about how much I’d be sharing on such a ‘open’ online platform, but after much thought, I think it was necessary. It was the words my mother said to me a few weeks before the ceremony as I struggled deeply to make my choice to pursue my degree locally or overseas. I had an amazing offer that I thought at that moment that I really wanted to go, from Sussex, probably for their ranking for pursuing social work and because their placements were always with good local government bodies. But the more I struggled, the more she encouraged, silently.

My mother and I share one thing in common,and that is- we do not love loudly. We show it in the actions of what we do for people, and words and terms of endearment make us extremely uncomfortable.  I would have thought she would have gotten sick of my fretting and worrying as I struggled to make a decision. It was one of those nights where I sat on the excel sheet comparing numbers between Australia, Singapore and Sussex and I felt extremely lost, tired, and confused. At that moment, she turned to me and said, “I want what’s best for you. You deserve the best education I can give you.”

I laughed it off and teased my mother’s seriousness. But deep down, a part of me was touched. And for me, I think that was enough. Knowing how blessed I was was enough. And it came clear to me that nothing was as important as family. There,  Right then. And that’s when I made my choice.

I love you mom. You’re nothing short of amazing.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Some snapshots/timeline of my week:

Milestone unlocked: My first company function that I was given full reign to plan and execute (with the trusty guidance of my supervisor, of course!) Settled the invites, the catering, the photo booth. The only thing that went wrong that day was that the food came extremely late and lived up to my programming teacher’s wise words of program planning, ‘what can go wrong, will go wrong‘. Thankfully, my program was also slightly delayed so the food arrived in the nick of time *phew*. I was so glad when it was over, relieved rather. It was quite a bit of hard work putting the props together but I made it! Also, we finally took a photo together (my first photo of the team and me as a ‘full time staff’ -though on probation-) as a senior’s team!

Milestone unlocked: Ran 5km and attended 30 minutes of energy sculpt class on day #1 of cramps! (Ladies, Preach!) Never did it before because I never dared to go through the pain but I did it! With no pink pills and I felt amazingly much better after. Oh, I also found out exercise is good for cramps, which was rather amazing. I used to refuse to get out of bed on day #1 unless I really, really had to. Click if you’re curious! Exercise relieves cramps because it helps release beta-endorphins, which are internal opioids — your own “human morphine,”

And also: current song of the week- Lawson’s Standing in the dark

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Leave a Reply

