Graduate Lo!

last sem results 2014

I didn’t get the best results for my final year project but I’m extremely happy over my merit for internship (yay!) With this final semester results in- I am unofficially-officially a graduate with a diploma in gerontological management studies *throws confetti in the air*

Sigh such a bittersweet moment. I remember dragging myself to school through the tough times and telling myself I needed to graduate. I also remember the times before when I actually told myself I needed so badly to get that diploma certificate because I wanted to prove to myself that I could graduate with a decent grade point average in a local tertiary institute.

Hell, I remember the friends all around me telling me the stupidest mistake I ever did was quit polytechnic the first time. I remember freaking out when I left school and feared the decision but hey, really. Look how far I’ve come with the support of my loved ones around and sticking with what I chose to the best of my ability. I am extremely happy, extremely blessed. And obviously, I’d like to take a moment to thank god too who really watched me through the tough storms. I wouldn’t have done it without his grace to see me through.

So just yesterday, with great thanks to Ben- I managed to get into the conference for ageless in Singapore as a attendee! It happened today and It costs $600 per head but Temasek Polytechnic paid for the few of us to go. I was extremely thankful for such an opportunity and was really excited because I wanted to go check out the workshops, and talk to people and listen to viewpoints of different organizations.

Ageless

The networking lunch was extremely scary because it was my first time and the crowd was overwhelming but I managed to see familiar faces such as the course mates who presented their poster and so on, and even talk to a few strangers who worked in the silver industry. Sadly, I made a grave mistake of not bringing name cards. So I guess I lost some chances in a sense to collaborate something for my organization but I guess this is a lesson learnt too.

Attended two workshops in total, which was on how to use Shel Silverstein’s The giving tree to learn inter-generational creative writing by Mr Jeffery Tan , and secondly on how to digitally capture the stories of elders by Mr Jack York from the US. It was extremely insightful and engaging. Mind blown.

IMG_2066[1]Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

IMG_2059[1]IMG_2057[1]IMG_2064[1]

After the final workshop, I watched Ben eat some chili beef fries before I met the girls for dinner! Kuan Lin suggested this street opposite which had lots of cheaper eateries underneath the shop houses. After much hesitation, we finally settled down at a place called beavers. It had really good music, good ambiance and It was relatively reasonably priced, less than $10 per main course with a free small bowl of soup before GST.

Me and Caroline have just started work recently but we both ended up accompanying KL to buy clothes today (the irony) . And she spent a lot of money buying like 2-3 maxi skirts-Sheesh.

I. am. Exhausted.

IMG_2085[1]

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetIMG_2068[1]Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset  IMG_2073[1]

IMG_2078[1]  IMG_2067[2]

bedtime calls 🙂

Leave a Reply

